Why Fascinated Caffeinated?

Image

If you’re anything like me you always wonder why.  It’s one of the most obnoxious questions because so often we make choices in the blind.  For me, part of discovering why I titled this blog Fascinated Caffeinated will be revealed to me as I write in it.  But the other part is this:

I am, and always have been, an obsessive person.  As far as I know I have always been this way.  I get excited about something, fixate on it, learn all I can about and through it, then I find something new and move on.  

Some part of me feels like this is a bad thing.  It’s the part that believes so many of the lies we’re told about identity, personality, and individualism.  It says, “you are this thing,” or “you are not that thing.”  It says I must be consistent.  It says it will help me to know who I am.

But there is another part of me, one that is ready to embrace any experience that comes along.  One that desires nothing more than to be free from the definition of a set personality.  Of a fixed mask to show the world.  The origin of the word personality is old Latin.  Stemming from the Greek word “persona” which means mask.  

Image

There is so much to explore, and so many things to experience, why should we limit ourselves to a mask?  Every passing obsession is an opportunity to explore on facet of myself.  The part that longs to be a film star from the golden age of Hollywood, the part that wants to be a pagan hedge witch, and the part that wants to be a super villain can express themselves in phases — singular or recurrent.

This blog is a place for me to express these (and other) fascinations, to share them with the world without driving my friends and family insane.  The caffeine is just a vehicle for doing the work.  

What are your current obsessions?
How do you keep mentally flexible and avoid defining yourself using only one facet of you?
What keeps you interested?  Fascinated? Engaged with the world?

As always, I would love to hear from you.

Image

Leave a Reply

